Articles

Why is McCain Such a Credible Voice on Afganistan?

In Foreign Affairs, History, neoconservatives, politics on October 12, 2009 by Editor Z

What I find interesting is that someone who voted for and has spoken fervently in support of the Iraq War which diverted resources from the war in Afghanistan and said in the long run we can just “muddle through” the war in Afghanistan; is taken seriously in this latest debate on possibly escalating troop levels there.


Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those who thinks we should retreat from there immediately. After all Afghanistan is the war where there was a threat and where elements of Al-Queda have received aid and we should continue to battle to defeat or mollify such elements, though as we have seen in Iraq nation building is something that only bogs us down. People should remember that just because you throw money and soldiers at a problem does not automatically solve a problem, unless they have a solid strategy to guide them.

Digg!

2 Responses to “Why is McCain Such a Credible Voice on Afganistan?”

  1. I want to quote your post in my blog. It can?And you et an account on Twitter?

  2. sure. I do have a twitter account but I rarely use it and for the past two months I haven't been blogging all that much. You can quote me though. Sorry for the slow response.

Leave a Reply

Articles

Why is McCain Such a Credible Voice on Afganistan?

In Foreign Affairs, History, neoconservatives, politics on October 12, 2009 by Editor Z

What I find interesting is that someone who voted for and has spoken fervently in support of the Iraq War which diverted resources from the war in Afghanistan and said in the long run we can just “muddle through” the war in Afghanistan; is taken seriously in this latest debate on possibly escalating troop levels there.


Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those who thinks we should retreat from there immediately. After all Afghanistan is the war where there was a threat and where elements of Al-Queda have received aid and we should continue to battle to defeat or mollify such elements, though as we have seen in Iraq nation building is something that only bogs us down. People should remember that just because you throw money and soldiers at a problem does not automatically solve a problem, unless they have a solid strategy to guide them.

Digg!

2 Responses to “Why is McCain Such a Credible Voice on Afganistan?”

  1. I want to quote your post in my blog. It can?And you et an account on Twitter?

  2. sure. I do have a twitter account but I rarely use it and for the past two months I haven't been blogging all that much. You can quote me though. Sorry for the slow response.

Leave a Reply

